Self Discovery…….

Sometimes I find myself pondering why and if, such tiny words, yet they can drive the forces that command our attention and divert our focus.

Today I asked myself what really matters to me, and I was surprised that I pondered it for the day. All the things we take for granted come quickly to mind, my children, my husband, my family, my friends, my home, my animals, and even my job, and yet the question stayed with me, taunting me to look deeper.

As the thoughts rolled within my mind I realized that what I was really asking myself was – who I am, because that is what orchestrates what matters to me. I am passionate, motivated, kind hearted, a thinker, a doer, a force to be reckoned with. I am equipped with a gentle spirit, a tough outer shell, an amazing inner child, and a few God given talents.

I look to find the good in people; it makes me angry when others settle. I have compassion for things that matter and some that don’t. My heart aches to see my friends in pain. I find total peace in the beauty of nature, and serenity behind the lens of my camera.

Along the road we call life I’ve learned a few things that are worth sharing. Wisdom and knowledge should be sought, love is priceless, and respect must be earned, but should always be given. Speak your mind when it matters, listen to that still small voice, and trust your gut. Know when to say no, never be too proud to say you’re sorry, know when you’re wrong, always say please and thank you. Always kiss your momma. Know when to be still, try to accept that you can’t fix everything or anyone. If it won’t matter in 5 years it’s probably not important, and most of all learn to forgive yourself.

Thank you for sharing my journey of self-discovery…………..

Leave a Reply

